Nominations sought for 2023 south-African Heroes Awards

The South-African positive news has officially opened the submissions process for the 5th South-African Heroes Awards 2023.

 Sponsored by Mohlalefi engineering the annual awards program aims to shine a spotlight on ordinary South-Africans who are doing extra-ordinary things to uplift their communities. The distinctions are given to South-Africans championing social change and economic progress in the country and work to uplift the lives of South-Africans.

The black-tie awards evening will be held on the 30th September 2023 at the Johannesburg theatre. Nominations must be registered by Friday, March 31.

SA Heroes Awards Founder, Amanda Matshaka says over the past four years the program has enjoyed overwhelming success with nominations coming from all provinces. “We are celebrating people who go out of their way to make a difference in their communities. We have had exception community leaders who won in different categories that we have in the awards-some have went on to collaborate on projects that will further benefit their communities”,added Matshaka.

Written by Thapelo Magola

The categories open for nominations this year are:

  1. Youth Empowerment -uplifting young people through various programmes, Business Empowerment – offering assistance to start-ups/small businesses to help them succeed.
  2. Specialized Care – people who take care of vulnerable groups like orphans, disabled persons, abused people, widows, homeless, etc.
  3. Community Service – voluntary community work in different NGOs to benefit fellow community members; e.g. community policing forums.
  4. Community Health – health centers initiated and run by community members as well as primary health care.
  5. Rural Development – projects that uplift rural communities,
  6. Women Empowerment – programs meant for the upliftment and empowerment of women, honorary Green Award that recognizes people who run projects/programs for environmental preservation.

Two new categories have been added: the South African Hero of the Year and honorary Ubuntu Award.

“We are excited to introduce these two categories. The SA Hero of the Year award will go to a community hero that has been voted for by fellow finalists”, said Matshaka. “It is a way of building a sense of community among the unsung heroes and seeing value in what others are doing”.

The honorary Ubuntu Award will be bestowed upon veteran community builders and celebrated personalities who have contributed towards community building in appreciation of their acts of service.  

The 2023 ambassador for the awards was also introduced at the event, with the founder of Kananelo M Trust & SAHA 2022 Naomi Mosiane taking the reins over from Linda Njotini-Ugbobuaku.

Entries can be submitted to For more information people should visit the official website on

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© copyright 2023 by

created by: