South African Heroes Awards 2024 Nominees Announced

The South African Heroes Awards (SAHAs) have announced the nominees of the 6th instalment of the awards. The much-anticipated announcement of the South African Heroes Awards 2024 followed a record submission of nominations received since the opening of nominations in February. SAHA 2024 received just over 100 nominations.

Over the past five years the SAHAs have enjoyed overwhelming success with nominations coming from all provinces. “We have had exceptional community leaders who won in the different categories that we have in the awards – some have gone on to collaborate with government and corporate on projects that further benefit their communities”, said awards founder and organiser, Amanda Matshaka.

With now 20 categories, the South African Heroes Awards are showing a steady growth. In the categories voted for by the pubic, two new categories have been added: the Community Media of the Year – carrying community empowering stories and Community Journalist of the year – covering community empowering stories. 

Other categories for nominations are; Youth Empowerment -uplifting young people through various programmes, Business Empowerment – offering assistance to start-ups/small businesses to help them succeed, Specialized Care – people who take care of vulnerable groups like orphans, disabled persons, abused people, widows, homeless, etc., Community Service – voluntary community work to benefit fellow community members, e.g. feeding programmes, community policing forums, etc.  Community Health – health centres initiated and run by community members as well as primary health care, Rural Development – projects that uplift rural communities, Women Empowerment – programmes meant for the upliftment and empowerment of women and Community Builder of the Year Award – the overall winner voted for by finalists.

Honorary Awards this year are: Green Award – honours people who run projects/programmes for environmental preservation.  

Ubuntu Award – honours veteran community builders whose projects have produced other noticeable community builders and high achievers.

Art of Giving – honours those who are uplifting communities through art.

Language Preservation Award – honours those who take pride in preserving indigenous languages.

Leader of Influence – honours exceptional leaders who lead by example and have a trail of positive influence.

Rights Activist of the Year – gives honour to those who fight tirelessly for human rights.

Aid Giver of the Year – honours exceptional first responders in times of disaster & distress.

Iconic Impact – honours an icon who has lived and continues to live their lives giving of themselves to others to ensure they succeed in life.

Excellence in Public Service – honours those in public service who deliver with excellence and go beyond the call of duty.

International Achiever – represents South Africa with pride abroad, changing and impacting lives.

The nominees are:


Tshegofatso Kitso Sello

Mosima Machaba

Zane Khoza

Luvuko Nkwenkwe

Minenhle Nation Mthimunye

Dr Nisi Thusi

Dr Mthobisi Ndaba

Kutlwano Moloi

Tlotlisang David Mhlambiso

The Junior Commissioners

Abongile Khwaza

Themba Ndlovu

KwaNobuhle Youth Empowerment

Seth Mazibuko, June 16 Youth Foundation

Tebogo Rakgabyane

Christina Maloka

Mohlodi Support Centre NPO

Sihle Mtshali Foundation

Michelle Nkamankeng of MN Foundation


Talk and Heal

Caroline Lerole

Boby Nkoana Tsaagane

Didintle Olorato Moatshe

Mary Raletooane

Hulisani Siobo

Woman Paying It Forward SA

Mapule Sarah Mthimkhulu

Halaletsang Women Empowerment

Lunje Foundation

Lolo Nkamakeng


Luyanda Kilani

Annah Seleke

Derrick Williams


Annah Msimango

Sinawo Fatyi

Simphiwe Mdumiseni Nasha

Push and Reach Movement

Hope and Restoration Movement

Keep the Dream 196


Jackson Morure

Thobela Mlotha

Dr Mzi Mabenge


Mokgele Foundation

Makgitle Evans Mabowa

Georgina Mapule Mphatswe

Anthea Thyssen-Ambursley

Kuli Maluleke Foundation

Dineo Moagi

Tshepo Makola

Mankhedi Masha Foundation

Averille Botha

Lydia Hlongwane

Table View Angels NPC

Annah Mametsa

Sheila Tanner

Rowana Swarts

Sifa Vallery Tema

Myrtle Williams

Nomathamsanqa Rosemond Mqomboti

House of Labron foundation

Kedibone Mutuludi

Solly Nkgalabi Mankga

Mosel / Penford /Jansendal CPF

Levona Steeneveld

SIM (Service in Motion)

Debbie Wood

Big Brother’s Hug

Boitumelo Mashakeng


Thapelo Magola

Lerato Mampa 

Faith Mtwana


Eastern Cape Rising Sun

Go! & Express

Guardian Report

Inner-city Gazette


Onius Mathule Moganedi

Lucy Human

Donovan Masombuka

Thandi Leeuw

Luyanda S Taboshe

Nkeletseng Tsetsane

Voting lines will officially open from the 10th of June 2024. The awards ceremony is set to take place on September 21, 2024, at a yet to be announced venue.

The awards are an initiative of Kingdom Helpers of Africa in association with SA Positive News, sponsored by Mohlalefi Engineering and in partnership with Mosetsa Media.

One Reply to “South African Heroes Awards 2024 Nominees Announced”

I’m so grateful to be one of the nominees of SAHA 2024 and I’m looking forward to help the community more than before thank you

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© copyright 2023 by

created by: