Premier Panyaza Lesufi announces his Gauteng cabinet. 

Freshly-sworn Gauteng Premier Panyaza Lesufi has announced his provincial cabinet for the next five-year term.

Fighting crime, corruption, and lawlessness mercilessly is just one of the bold commitments made by Gauteng Premier Panyaza Lesufi.

Lesufi made these promises during the announcement of his new cabinet in Sandton on Wednesday evening.

Premier Lesufi named 10 executive positions in the provincial government following weeks of deadlock that delayed the formation of a historic governing coalition.

Lesufi retained the African National Congress’ Matome Chialone as Education and Sports MEC and appointed member of the Inkatha Freedom (IFP) Party Bonginkosi Dlamini as MEC of eGovernment, bringing the IFP and other parties into his new coalition cabinet.

Former human settlement MEC Lebogang Maile has been moved to the finance department; Nomantu Nkomo-Ralehoko remains in the health department; and Tasneem Motara is now the human settlement MEC. The new Infrastructure and Cogta MEC is Jacob Mamabolo.

We’ve been asked to leave no one behind. Today, we all declare that no one will be left behind unless they choose not to be part of the GPU. However, we will not close the door for any party, added Lesufi.

“Our task from today is to build a better Gauteng; our task from now is to make Gauteng attractive for all families, all forms of investments, workers, the youth and students, sporting and cultural events, and safe for our women and children.”

“We remain committed to building a better Gauteng. A gauge that will make all of us proud. A Gauteng that will fight crime, corruption, and lawlessness mercilessly.”

Lesufi’s executive council will be constituted as follows:

Bonginkosi Dlamini, eGov (IFP)

Lebogang Maile, Finance (ANC)

Matome Chialone, Education, and Sports (ANC)

Vuyiswa Ramokgopa, Agriculture and Rural Development (Rise Mzansi)

Nomantu Nkomo-Ralehoko, Health (ANC)

Jacob Mamabolo, Infrastructure & Cogta (ANC)

Kedibone Tlhabela, Roads & Transport (ANC)

Tasneem Motara, Human Settlement (ANC)

Faith Mazibuko, Social Development (ANC)

Sheila Mary Peters, Environment (PA)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© copyright 2023 by

created by: